Subscribe to our Newsletter

Insert your email address in the box below to Subscribe to our Newsletters


View back copies of our Newsletter here.

WA Volunteer Service Awards 2016

We’d like to ask your organisation to consider nominating volunteers that have worked with the same organisation for 25 years or more for a WA Volunteer Service Award.

The Department of Local Government and Communities helps to acknowledge the significant efforts of Western Australia’s volunteers through the WA Volunteer Service Awards. The program recognises West Australian volunteers who have provided more than 25 years and 50 years of service to one organisation. Nominees receive a commemorative badge as a token of appreciation.  Official presentations are held regularly by the Minister for Seniors and Volunteering (Minister Tony Simpson). Alternatively, arrangements can be made to have an award presented at another time to volunteers by the nominating organisation.  Further information regarding the awards program can be found here.

The ceremonies for 2016 are likely to be held:

  • Early June: 25 – 49 years of service
  • September: 25 – 49 years
  • Early December:  50+ years

For those volunteers choosing to have their award presented to them by their nominating organisation, DLGC will send the appropriate award to the organisation prior to the above dates.  Those volunteers nominating to have their award presented by the Minister at a ceremony will be invited to the next ceremony being held.  Please note that nominations can still be submitted at any time during the year.

Please use the online nomination form to nominate your volunteers wherever possible.

Nominations for the June ceremony will close in early May (date tbc). 


Indigenous Governance Awards

Eligible indigenous organisations are invited to apply for the 2016 Indigenous Governance Awards. These are national awards that highlight success in indigenous Australia: strong leadership, good management, effective partnerships and creative thinking.

There is $60,000 in prize money up for grabs and the winners in each category will receive $20,000 to assist their organisation, project or initiative and the highly commended winners in each category will each be awarded $10,000.

Finalists will also receive an Awards package. For more information please visit their website.

Nominations close 20th May 2016